п»їRunning head: DEALING WITH GRIEF

Coping with Grief

Martha Ann Smith

Grand Canyon University

Footings of Spiritual techniques in Healthcare

HLT 310v

Marie Ambruster

December 22, 2012

Working with Grief

Healthcare provider connect to people who are suffering from and working with grief daily. Stress and grief are normal reactions when an individual has perished, diagnosed with a major illness, and even sent house on hospice knowing that death is certain. " Tremendous grief is a normal and all-natural internal reaction to a loss in any kind. Sadness is the inconsistant feelings due to the end of or difference in a familiar routine of behavior” (Athan, 2011). In this conventional paper the author is going to discuss Kubler-Ross' 5 stages of Grief; Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression and Acknowledgement (DABDA). This paper will likely include the comparison and contrast of the difficulties that Job experienced as well as the stages of grief this individual went through. The writer will also discuss the process of grieving in other ethnicities and religions.

Grief is usually an feeling that people experience when they have gotten a decrease of something or perhaps someone that is important in their life. Suffering is proven differently with respect to the person. Many are verbal with their grief; others may display it through actions, and a few may display it through emotions. Persons grieve in their own approach and when they are really ready: costly very personal process. Suffering is a natural process of living, and mourning that is a crucial part of the process of recovery. Grief may not be rushed as it takes time and everyone experiences this differently. Certainly not everyone should go through the phases in the same order (Axelrod, 2006). Culture makes a difference by way of a reaction to sadness. " We could a tremendous grief and loss of life denying society” (Athan, 2011). Unresolved sadness can be harmful, as well as it may lead to multiple problems like addiction, anxiousness, depression, and even suicide.

Kubler-Ross says that refusal is the express of becoming numbing and in surprise. After Work lost his 10 kids, all his servants and livestock, Job cursed the morning he was delivered, but this individual never doomed GOD (Job 3: a few NLT). This individual grieved and mourned his losses, but stayed true to himself and not lost his identity. Often people suffering losing express anger directed at GOD, a family member who is sick, perishing or has recently passed, or maybe at themselves. Job even though refused to stop, even as his angry wife pleaded with him to curse GOD because he required everything from all of them including his health(Job a couple of: 9-10 NLT). Bargaining can be described as process of a person producing promises, discussing or pleading for anything to change in exchange for something different. At this point Job continued asking " Why”, but remained faithful to GOD in spite of what was happening, even though he previously no explanation for his suffering (Job 3: 20-23, 7: 11-21 NLT). Depression in this condition is not considered a mental disease, but rather an answer to a loss. Job was definitely battling, and all of his friends and wife had been angry and unable to provide comfort to him. This individual felt by itself and abandoned. Job really believed that suffering has not been a tool of judgment, although a way of building up your trust (Job 4: 7-21, 6th: 14-21, several: 1-5 NLT). The final level of tremendous grief is the acceptance stage. This is when the healing process has started and the person will be able to come to terms with their very own loss plus they are becoming much less angry as they heal. Job conveyed popularity of his loss if he expressed, " I emerged naked via my single mother's womb and I will be bare when I keep. The Lord gave me what I had, and the Head of the family has used it away. Praise the Lord” (Job 1: 20-21 NLT). " Each tradition has its own customs, rituals and ways of conveying grief and mourning” (Athan, 2011). The Jewish possess a six day grieving period (called " Shiva”) after the funeral, which is in which family leaves a candle light burning and stay in their house during the whole 7 day time period. The community comes together to support the along with close friends with the...

References: Athan, Lisa (2011) Grief Addresses Retrieved November 25, 2012


Axelrod, J. (2006). The 5 Periods of Reduction and Suffering. Psych Central. Retrieved on November 25,

2012, from http://psychcentral.com/lib/2006/the-5-stages-of-loss-and-grief/

Katz, Leslie (1995) Mourning rituals help Jews are up against the suffering of damage



KГјbler-Ross, Elisabeth & Kessler, David (2012) Gathered November twenty-five, 2012


Existence Recovery Holy book (1996) New Living Translation (2nd impotence. ) Tyndale House Marketers, Inc.


me by rinner Essay

Argumentative Presentation Essay